Myelom-Gruppe Rhein-Main

Last modified: 12 January 2013

What is multiple myeloma?

  • Multiple myeloma (also referred to as plasmacytoma or Morbus Kahler) is a malignant degeneration of the plasma cells. Reproduction of the cells in the bone marrow gets out of control.
  • The pathologically changed plasma cells produce antibodies or simply antibody fragments - so-called paraproteins. These antibodies have identical physicochemical properties; they are produced by a so-called clone of plasma cells and are also called monoclonal proteins.
  • The production of paraproteins suppresses the formation of normal antibodies, making the patient more susceptible to infections.
  • The growth of the healthy, blood-forming cells in the bone marrow is inhibited. The lack of healthy red and white blood cells results in fatigue, weakness, headache and increased susceptibility to infection.
  • The multiplication of myeloma cells in the bone marrow, their interaction with so-called bone marrow stroma (stroma is the supporting tissue of an organ or a tumor) and the activation of immune cells result in increased stimulation of osteoclasts. Osteoclasts are cells which can break down the bone substance. This results in loss of bone substance and bone defects, which in turn can lead to fractures and pain.
  • The dissolution of bone tissue releases increased calcium. An increase in the blood calcium values can lead to various complications such as kidney damage, tiredness, confusion, heart rhythm disturbances, nausea and vomiting.
  • The formation of large quantities of paraproteins can bring about a major increase in the protein content of the blood. As part of the protein is eliminated via the kidneys, the protein can block the renal tubules, thus impairing the kidney function.
  • Various forms of multiple myeloma are known. These differ in terms of the structure of the antibodies produced.
  • Multiple myeloma can exist for years without noticeable signs of illness. As a rule, the effects of the illness described here do not occur until the disease has been present for a long period of time.
  • To the present day, the question as to why multiple myeloma develops remains largely unanswered.
  • Although the disease occurs somewhat more often among close family members (parents/siblings), multiple myeloma is not a hereditary disease in the narrower sense.

For additional information on multiple myeloma click here.

Myelom-Gruppe Rhein-Main

Letzte Aktualisierung: 12 Januar 2013

Was ist das Multiple Myelom/Plasmozytom?

  • Ein Multiples Myelom/Plasmozytom (auch Morbus Kahler) ist eine bösartige Entartung der Plasmazellen. Die Vermehrung der Zellen im Knochenmark gerät außer Kontrolle.
  • Die krankhaft veränderten Plasmazellen produzieren Antikörper oder auch nur Bruchstücke von Antikörpern, die so genannten Paraproteine. Diese Antikörper haben identische physiko-chemische Eigenschaften, werden von einem so genannten Klon von Plasmazellen produziert und werden auch als monoklonale Proteine bezeichnet.
  • Durch die Produktion von Paraproteinen wird die Bildung normaler Antikörper unterdrückt, wodurch der Patient infektionsanfälliger wird.
  • Das Wachstum der gesunden blutbildenden Zellen im Knochenmark wird gehemmt. Durch den Mangel an gesunden roten und weißen Blutkörperchen kommt es zu Müdigkeit, Schwäche, Kopfschmerzen und einer gesteigerten Anfälligkeit für Infekte.
  • Durch die Vermehrung von Myelomzellen im Knochenmark, deren Interaktion mit so genanntem Knochenmarksstroma (als Stroma wird das Stützgewebe eines Organs bzw. eines Tumors bezeichnet) und die Aktivierung von Immunzellen kommt es zur vermehrten Stimulation von Osteoklasten. Osteoklasten sind Zellen, die Knochensubstanz abbauen können. Dadurch kommt es zu Verlust an Knochensubstanz und Knochendefekten. Dies kann zu Knochenbrüchen und Schmerzen führen.
  • Durch die Auflösung des Knochengewebes wird vermehrt Kalzium freigesetzt. Eine Erhöhung der Blutkalziumwerte kann zu verschiedenen Komplikationen wie Nierenschäden, Müdigkeit, Verwirrtheit, Herzrhythmusstörungen, Übelkeit und Erbrechen führen.
  • Durch die Bildung großer Mengen von Paraproteinen kann der Eiweißgehalt des Blutes erheblich ansteigen. Weil ein Teil des Eiweißes über die Nieren ausgeschieden wird, kann das Eiweiß die Nierenkanälchen verstopfen und so die Nierenfunktion beeinträchtigen.
  • Es sind mehrere verschiedene Formen des Multiplen Myeloms bekannt, die sich durch die Struktur der produzierten Antikörper voneinander unterscheiden.
  • Ein Multiples Myelom/Plasmozytom kann über Jahre hinweg ohne bemerkbare Krankheitszeichen verlaufen. Die hier beschriebenen Auswirkungen der Erkrankung treten in der Regel erst nach einem längeren Krankheitsverlauf auf.
  • Warum ein Multiples Myelom/Plasmozytom entsteht, ist bisher weitgehend ungeklärt.
  • Obwohl die Erkrankung bei engen Familienangehörigen (Eltern/Geschwister) etwas häufiger ist, handelt es sich beim Multiplen Myelom nicht um eine Erbkrankheit im engeren Sinn.