Myelom-Gruppe Rhein-Main

Last modified: 12 January 2013

High dosage therapy and stem cell transplantation

Studies have shown that the use of melphalan in very high dosages has led to full remission (complete disappearance of the symptoms of the illness) with many patients. Nevertheless, the high dosage therapy had a negative effect on the bone marrow. The result is a pronounced lack of white blood cells, combined with a major risk of infection. The following procedures have now become established for high-dosage multiple myeloma therapy:

  • Administering of growth factors that accelerate the regeneration of white blood cells. These growth factors are known as granulocyte colony-stimulating factors (G-CSF).
  • Re-transplanting of bone marrow - or of periphery stem cells (circulating in the blood) obtained prior to the high dosage therapy. This procedure is also referred to as autologous (obtained from the own body) stem cell transplantation.

Consult your doctor as to whether this form of autologous or even allogenic (stem cells from another person) transplantation, in combination with high-dosage chemotherapy, can be considered in your case and regarding the risks associated with these methods.

Myelom-Gruppe Rhein-Main

Letzte Aktualisierung: 12 Januar 2013

Hochdosis-Therapie und Stammzellentransplantation

Studien haben gezeigt, dass durch den Einsatz von Melphalan in sehr hoher Dosierung bei vielen Patienten eine komplette Remission (vollständiges Verschwinden der Krankheitsanzeichen) erreicht werden konnte. Allerdings beeinträchtigte die hoch dosierte Therapie das Knochenmark. Ein ausgeprägter Mangel an weißen Blutkörperchen ist die Folge, verbunden mit einer erheblichen Gefährdung durch Infektionen. Für die Hochdosis-Therapie des Multiplen Myeloms/Plasmozytoms haben sich inzwischen folgende Verfahren etabliert:

  • Gabe von Wachstumsfaktoren, welche die Neubildung weißer Blutkörperchen beschleunigen. Diese Wachstumsfaktoren heißen Granulozyten-Kolonie-stimulierende Faktoren (G-CSF).
  • Rücktransfusion von Knochenmark- oder peripheren (im Blut zirkulierenden) Stammzellen, die vor der Hochdosis-Therapie gewonnen werden. Diese Verfahren bezeichnet man auch als autologe (aus dem eigenen Körper entstanden) Stammzellentransplantation.

Besprechen sie mit Ihrem Arzt, ob eine solche autologe oder gar eine allogene (Stammzellen von einem anderen Menschen) Transplantation in Kombination mit Hochdosis-Chemotherapie für Sie in Frage kommt und mit welchen Risiken diese Methoden verbunden sind.